Menu Planning Monday: Freezer Food

This week we are eating leftovers.  The whole week.  But hopefully it won’t taste as bad as it sounds.  Over the first few weeks of March, I decided to be more intentional and either make a bit more of something, or just freeze the leftovers from certain meals that make more than we could manage eating in a few days before we got sick of it (like manicotti, for instance).

We’ll see how it goes.  One of the upsides to me, though, is that I don’t have to worry about prepping for dinner too much, other than maybe putting together a salad or two, and since I don’t have to devote more time to cooking, I can get a bit more creative with my salads. 

Another upside is that we are getting within a few dollars of our $225 monthly budget, so it’s nice to know that we have so many meals already prepared.  I may have to go over budget, though, if I see a few items on sale that would be great for next month’s menus. 

Here’s what’s on the menu for this week:

- Portuguese Potato-Kale soup w/ salad

- Chicken tikka masala over rice

- Manicotti, salad

- Quiche, salad

- Pizza (this I’m making from scratch, as we are out of frozen pizza dough)

There are a couple of evenings unaccounted for here – one of them we will hopefully go out to In-n-Out burger and used some of our leftover eating out money, and then another I’m planning on some sort of “appetizer” night with things like bruschetta, homemade Lebanese samosas w/ cucumber yogurt dip, and maybe some pita chips and hummus.  This will all be with ingredients we already have on hand.

Speaking of on hand, how many of you have ever tried to make a Ranch-style dressing on your own?  I attempted one once from a cookbook, and while I didn’t like that one as much, the basic ingredient base of buttermilk, a little mayo, and some freshly minced onions, garlic, and herbs, along with a little salt and pepper, has resulted in a tasty, creamy, preservative-free dressing.  We have about a cup left over this week, and I plan on using it for some of our salad dressings.  I always struggle with how to use up even a tiny quart of buttermilk, and using it for this plus things like muffin or pancake recipes has helped me greatly.

One thought on “Menu Planning Monday: Freezer Food

  1. I use buttermilk sporadically in baking, so I keep powdered buttermilk on hand. It keeps forever in the fridge. I too would struggle to use up exactly a container of fresh buttermilk!

Leave a Reply

