Summer resolutions

New Year’s Day is often a marker for many when they set out to make resolutions for the year to come.  But for me, I find myself almost doing a “Half-Year’s” Day-like reflection once July rolls around.  Maybe it’s because the time when Michael returns to work (one month from tomorrow) reminds me that I can’t live this life of increased freedom for too much longer.  Not too far from now, I will have to get up with the 6:30 am whispers of “Mommy?  Mommy?  Mommy?  Pee-pee on the potty Mommy?  Play with da toys, Mommy?  Git down, Mommy?” instead of rolling over and thanking God that I am married to someone who will gladly get up and let me sleep in.

I also see the boys growing, and have my stack of new books we recently ordered to do preschool at home.  Between that and a now-crawling 10 month old who delights in dumping out trash cans or pulling on lamp cords, I know I’m going to have my hands full.  I watched in amazement today when my 2 1/2 year-old ate four meals total, including a banana, scrambled eggs and toast, a hot dog, casserole, peas, apples, cheese, a grilled cheese sandwich, a whole peach, several glasses of milk and juice, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich before bedtime.

So what are my “halfway” goals?  Well, I think they are more “ways of life” goals rather than “I’m going to do this specifically” goals.  I want to continue exercising once Michael returns to school, but I also want to have more of a routine with the boys so that our days don’t get away from us.  I want to have more of a routine as well with keeping the house in order and making things from scratch (because that’s the only way we are going to be able to make our food budget work with two hungry boys to feed :)).

In the past, I’ve often separated baking from toddlers, because I know the bad things that can happen when you turn your back and they turn the mixer onto high.  But now, I’m hoping to include Eli in baking, maybe do it as an activity once or twice a week.  I tried it out this past Friday, and amazingly, we got bread dough made and kneaded by hand together before Dylan woke up from his morning nap.  I read on another woman’s blog, Down to Earth, that she starts her bread in the morning so that she can bake it mid-day.  I realized that I could probably actually work this in – prepare during the little guy’s morning nap, and bake it during both their afternoon naps.  Can you imagine anything more heavenly than sitting down to a cup of tea while your boys sleep and bread bakes in the oven?  I think it’s worth a try.

2 thoughts on “Summer resolutions

  1. Hey Jenni- I really enjoy reading your blog, and your posts always make me appreciate the little things. You inspire me to save and cut costs, especially as I will be starting school in the fall, and we’re going to have to come up with some extra money to pay for childcare a few hours a week. It’s tough living on one salary, but as I’m sure you would agree, so worth it. I’m so grateful to be able to stay home with my kids, and even if it means cutting coupons and not indulging in a lot of extras, I know life won’t always be like this. Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I’m reading your blog! Love, your cousin, Kris

  2. I like your idea of Summer Resolutions. I have more umph to actually do more when the days are longer, and the sun is brighter. So setting a goal in July makes a lot of sense to me. Thank you for the idea.

Leave a Reply

