Finding hope in the suds

I’m not really sure what to attribute this week’s funk to – maybe it’s just being in the middle of finals week, which is for my husband, but we all make sacrifices, don’t we?

I haven’t been getting out of the house much either, which means I’m not getting too much natural light.

Or it could be that three of my boys have run fevers in the last few days.

At any rate, I had to pull myself out somehow tonight, because the dishes really couldn’t be neglected.  So I put on my headphones and set my ipod to a Ted talk by Todd Henry on Creativity Under Pressure.  Click on the link if you’d like to watch it – it’s really worth your time, and for me, it made the dishes fly by.  By the end of it, I had several sparks of new ideas, and, as a bonus, a clean (er) kitchen!

My favorite quote from this talk was from Thomas Merton:

“There can be an intense egoism in following everybody else. People are in a hurry to magnify themselves by imitating what is popular – and too lazy to think of anything better. Hurry ruins saints as well as artists. They want quick success and they are in such a haste to get it that they cannot take time to be true to themselves. And when the madness is upon them they argue that their very haste is a species of integrity.”

Tomorrow is a day of rest for me, at least part of it, I hope :).  I’m headed to the library to pick up a large stack of books I’ve placed on hold to read over the holidays.  Once we make it through finals, my husband will have a few weeks off where he only works in the afternoon, which means, I get mornings to recharge my batteries!

Leave a Reply

