Gifts that don’t cost money (or at least that much money)

We’re always on a tight budget, and this year is no different.  I settled on a couple of block sets for the boys (Lincoln Logs and Standard Unit Blocks from deals snagged on the internet), and to round that out, I am hoping to do a couple of thrifted gifts and homemade gifts.  We have an awesome Goodwill Store within walking distance from our house, and I like to sneak in there every now and then and see what the toy section has to offer.  For their birthdays in September, I was able to snag a Little Tikes grocery cart and two Tonka lights-and-sounds machines for under $6 total, and they play with them all the time.

IF I find time to do it, I hope to make the boys’ stockings this year, make homemade scented playdough, and make chef hats and aprons for each of them along with three-ring binders that will be the beginning of what I hope will be cookbooks for them to build on their own over time – favorite recipes, pictures of them cooking in the kitchen, etc. I have so many memories attached to food I’ve eaten over my life – do you?  It’s strange – I’ll make a cake and totally feel like the person I first made that cake with is right there in the kitchen with me.  I can’t always give my boys lots of monetary gifts, and we all know that’s not the most important thing anyway, but I do want to give them rich memories.

* note:  I love picket fences, but not in my living room.  The border you see in the picture above is a remnant of our home’s previous owners “eye for design.”  It has since been removed, and I feel much better now :).

Leave a Reply

